My Redeemer Lives!!!

I recently lead a devotional time at our church for the Student Ministry. Nothing long and crazy, just a brief time to help bring our hearts before the cross of Jesus Christ. For this time I decided to look at Job 19:25-27. This has been on my heart for about 3 weeks now, so I figured I would share it with all of you as well!

For I know that my Redeemer lives, and at the last He will stand upon the earth. And after my skin has been thus destroyed, yet in my flesh I shall see God, whom I shall see for myself, and my eyes shall behold, and not another. My heart faints within me!

Just before these verses Job says he wanted his words to be written in a book. He believe in what he is about to say. It’s so important that he wants them engraved in lead, with an iron pen, and on a rock. He wants people to see and read them forever. (Interesting how we now see it in Scripture!)

So what does Job have to say? After he dies he will see and behold God; his Redeemer, who lives. His fist statement is to declare this truth and that he knows it to be so. Job isn’t repeating what he had heard from elsewhere or pulling this out of a vacuum…oh no, his Redeemer lives and is true, so much so that this Redeemer will be standing on the earth. This is so crucial to Job that he is adamant about stating this so we may understand the severity of knowing what he knows. His Savior/Rescuer/Redeemer is pushed to the forefront. This comes from a man who is currently going through a severe trial. All his children, sources of income, his servants/workers, and health have been stripped away in a matter of minutes. And his close friends are telling him that only the wicked suffer like he is, so he must be in sin and at ods with God. Picture Job; a man covered with sores, popping them and trying to scrape the infection out and off of his self, covered in dirt, clothes torn and ratty, and in excessive pain and aguish (not one would we quickly gaze upon); all moments after losing everything: family, money, and job.

He responds to his friends and the trial by declaring and resting in his relationship with God. Knowing one fact brings his heart to fainting or collapsing. Verse 26; even after death I will see God, My Redeemer! My eyes will behold Him; someone else isn’t going to tell me about my Redeemer. No, no, no. I will see Him, Him standing upon the earth and me gazing upon Him fully for myself. Job is spent; his heart (meaning the whole being of Job; emotions, affections, actions, etc.) is wholly exhausted just from beholding God, his Redeemer. His Redeemer is the high point and meaning of life and Job’s heart longs and yearns for Him. Overwhelming, overpowering, great, remarkable, and awesome; these are all too small of words. They can only touch the surface of the iceberg. The sight of looking at the Redeemer is never-ending and immeasurable.

So the question we should be rushing towards is, “How can I know his Redeemer? Where is He?” Job’s Redeemer has made Himself known so that we may long and rest in Him as Job did, so that we may behold His face after our death. He is Jesus Christ, the One true God according to 1 John 5:20.

Jesus is the One who redeems His people; He is the One who has taken God’s wrath, He is the One who takes the judgment of sin for those who by grace through faith trust in Him. Jesus is the One who will stand upon the earth with all His people who sins have been paid for through His blood, He is the One, their Redeemer, who they will behold after their death and with their own eyes. Without Jesus, the only Redeemer, you will be in a horrible situation; worse than Job was during his trial. You will be at the full extent of God’s wrath. You will be accountable for your sins, and will pay the punishment, the wrath of God, for all eternity. That is really bad news, but that does not have to be your fate.

How I long to see individuals be filled with hearts that are fixated and cry for Jesus; that we truly love Jesus, truly desire Him, and want Him more than all else. That our hearts would faint and be exhausted at the truth that God – Jesus Christ saves sinners. He the Redeemer took on the wrath which sinners rightly deserved. Rejoice and linger on this reality of the Redeemer.

Grace and Peace

    • Sarah Martin
    • September 25th, 2010

    dude, that was long AND craaaazy.

    • Lol, I guess it is a long devotional…I guess it’s closer to a communion message. =)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

