Actor Michael Douglas on Cancer

Michael Douglas was recently interviewed on David Letterman and the purpose was to discuss his upcoming role and movie Wall Street 2. It was supposed to be fairly simple until it was revealed that Douglas was diagnosed with stage-4 cancer of the throat about three weeks prior (give or take). To my amazement his attitude reflected that of peace, joy, and contentment with going through this season of life.

This got my wheels turning and I pondered on what my response would be like or what the body of Christ’s response would be like to this situation. Many would argue that sin might be in their life (read Job), or something about Karma and how this is judgment for something they did previously in their life (read Isaiah 46:9-11, Romans 8:28-39, Acts 4:27-29, or Hebrews 6:16-18), or some may believe that Christians aren’t called to suffer [not implying Douglas is] (read Matthew 10:21-23/Mark 13:12-14/Luke 21:16-18, Romans 8:14-18, 2 Corinthians 4:16-18, or 1 Peter 2:20-22; 4:1-3).

We as believers must respond similar [KEY WORD], similar to Douglas. I have no idea if Douglas is a follower of Jesus Christ, but I know that his response was a gift given by God for my benefit. I pray that I would be calm, fun-loving, and at peace with any similar news that I could receive some day. Yes we can pray and hope for healing, but through the process oh how I hope that we will have our eyes fixed on Jesus! That we will rejoice in suffering so that we may boast in the Lord and Savior. Yes, REJOICE again I say REJOICE when trials come upon us. (James 1:2-4 and Philippians 4:4-12)

Grace and Peace

  1. Came across your blog browsing philosophy tags. I think the key quote is Douglas’ “I’m on stage” when challenged by Letterman as to his calmness.

    I hope he does indeed have the serenity and equanimity he projects in the interview, but I do wonder what is going through his mind in the more private, quiet moments.

    I hope he continues to find the strength he needs.

    • Hey Beyondanomie,

      Thanks for the comment. I agree to what Douglas said as to his reasoning behind his calmness. It’s still bizarre to me though that he would still remain so calm, regardless of how seasoned his is on stage.

      I don’t know what his beliefs are specifically, but I do pray he is following the Lord, Jesus Christ and that He is the reason for the calmness and serenity as you were speaking too, and I above; as it relates to what Jesus has given those who have faith in Him.

      Grace and Peace

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

