Mark Altrogge on Opening the Mail

Tom’s father had been gone for a long time.  He wondered how his father was and what his father was thinking.
Every day when he collected his mail, there was another letter to him from his father.  And every day he tossed the letter unopened onto an ever-growing pile on his coffee table.
“I wonder if my father loves me?”  he said on the way to the mailbox.  “I wish he were here so I could get his advice.  I wonder how my father would feel about these choices I’m making,” he said as he laid the latest unopened letter from his father atop the stack on the coffee table.
“If only he would give me a sign.  If only I could look up in the sky to see clouds in the shape of ‘thumbs up.’  If he could only let me know somehow that I’m on the right path.”  And the pile of unopened letters continued to grow.
How often are we like Tom.  Wondering if God loves us, wishing he’d give us a sign, unsure of his will, when all the while God’s love letter to us – our Bible – lays unopened on the coffee table.
What a treasure God’s Word is.  It’s filled with hope-fueling promises and assurances of God’s love, especially demonstrated at the cross.  It’s a lamp to our feet, a thousand comforts, a shield and a sword, an unfailing spiritual GPS to guide us on the highway of righteousness.  And it contains hundreds of descriptions of our beautiful Savior.
We don’t need signs.  We need to open the mail. -Mark Altrogge

  1. I need to open my Dad’s letters more often too. Great quote.

    Brad

Leave a Reply

