We Come to God’s Word to Meet the God of the Word

A wonderful statement that I often take for granted, is that we come to God’s Word to meet the God of the Word.  How often do I come to God’s Word for some lesser reason, or how often do I just not read my Bible because there is something else that I think I need to do?  Here are 3 verses that help shape my view of scripture:

2 Peter 1:17-19 
Peter gets to witness Jesus receive honor and glory as God says, “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased.”  Then he goes on to say, “And we have something more sure, the prophetic word, to which you will do well to pay attention.”  Peter in essence said that reading God’s word is worth more than actually getting to see Jesus shining on the “holy mountain.”

Hebrews 1:1-2
“Long ago, at many times and in many ways, God spoke to our fathers by the prophets, but in these last days he has spoken to us by his Son.”

He goes on to talk about the greatness of God’s Son, Jesus.  The climax of God showing himself to men is found in the person of Jesus Christ, who we know is God.

1 Timothy 3:16-17
“All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be competent, equipped for every good work.” 

For the man of God, Scripture is profitable for changing and improving his life.

As a result of these passages, anyone who desires to know God must look to His word.  We must look specifically to His Son Jesus, and we can expect to find application that will lead us more and more towards being a “man of God.”

These are a few verses that I need to remind myself of when I read or study any passage, and I hope they are helpful in your daily pursuit of God.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

