Just Do It!

I’m in the thick of doing a really nasty case analysis as part of my master’s program. I do not want to do it. I want to go read a different book. A fun book. Any book but the one I’m reading right now for this class. The quote below is ringing in my ears:

No unwelcome tasks become any the less unwelcome by
putting them off till tomorrow. It is only when they are behind
us and done, that we begin to find that there is a sweetness to
be tasted afterwards, and that the remembrance of
unwelcome duties unhesitatingly done is welcome and
pleasant. Accomplished, they are full of blessing, and there is a
smile on their faces as they leave us. Undone, they stand
threatening and disturbing our tranquility, and hindering our
communion with God. If there be lying before you any bit of
work from which you shrink, go straight up to it, and do it at
once. The only way to get rid of it is to do it.
‐Alexander MacLaren (1826‐1910), Scottish preacher

I leave you with an image of what I am trying to fight inside myself today:

  1. Get your butt in gear, bro! 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

