Screaming at your TV to the Glory of God; Sport in the Life of the Believer (part 3 of 4)

Today is the third of four posts on sports in the life of the believer. So far we have established that sport is not sinful but sometimes we sin as we play and watch and that one of the ways we sin is by creating tribes around who we follow and exclude others as a result of sport. Today I want to look at how we talk as we watch sports.

I have noticed that sports brings some really bad things out of my mouth. Today I just want to list some questions to ask yourself as you watch from the couch:

Am I complaining?

Am I wishing physical harm on anyone? I.E. am I saying things like I wish he would break his arm, leg, etc?

Am I saying anything about anyone on the playing field that I would be unwilling to say to them if I were speaking with them face to face?

Am I making derogatory comments or claims about the opposing fans, team, refs?

Am I okay if the other team wins? I.E. do I have contentment if things go bad?

Am I throwing the word, “hate,” around?

Am I using profanity or language unfitting a follower of Christ?

You may be able to do some of the above things without sin, but I would challenge you to look at your heart and see if you are committing sin with your mouth or in your thoughts. I have been guilty of each of this multiple times.

So that is the bad news. Here is the good news for you if you are a follower of Christ;

…His divine power has granted to us everything pertaining to life and godliness, through the true knowledge of Him who called us by His own glory and excellence. – 2nd peter 1:3

God has given us everything we need for life and Godliness. He did this by sending His Son to kill the old man at the cross and redeem us. He has sent His Holy Spirit to sanctify us. There is hope for us in all of life; even on the couch during the game.

Leave a Reply

