Words of Thanks to God From Omri of The Plumbline Collective

Omri from Plumbline asked if he could use HR to publicly encourage his brothers in the group by testifying to God’s grace in their lives. How can I turn down that request!

The growth that God’s grace has produced in my brothers in the Plumbline is absolutely mind blowing to me! Our growth in the Lord while separated by hundreds of miles is evidence that God is faithful to sanctify His people by His grace (1 Thess. 5:23-24). Since the group was established in March 2008, I have witnessed these men come to a greater understanding of the wonderful doctrines of the faith, as well as increase in love and affection for our Savior and His church. Not only has this growth been evident during the limited time that I’ve spent with them in person over the past 2 years, but it is unmistakably clear in our second group project, Semper Reformanda Volume 2.

Specifically, here is what I mean. First, take Alex for instance. When I met this brother, he was like 12 years old (nah, he was actually 14) and more excited about compiling songs from popular Christian artists for mixtapes rather than spending time with the Lord or His people. It’s been 6 years since then, and a lot has changed. Now, his life is consumed with fellowship and serving the believers at East Point Church in Atlanta in addition to operating Forty:3 Sound Studios. His love for music hasn’t changed much, but his love for God’s people has undoubtedly exceeded his desire for music. I’ve especially been blown away by His grasp of the practical implications of God’s grace. Few people that I know of do a better job at communicating God’s saving grace and its practical implications in light of man’s utter helplessness.

Kevin has always been a very vibrant and zealous (to say the least) follower of Christ as long as I’ve known him. The first time I met him, before he even told me his name, he was asking Alex and me if we were believers and before we knew it, we were all praising God together! There’s a lot more to that story, but we still laugh at the way he greeted us for the first time. Now, Kevin’s youthful excitement over the gospel has developed into a mature grasp of, and love for God’s word. God has equipped him with an extraordinary mind, and he uses it to memorize more Scripture than anyone else I know!  If you have any trouble distinguishing who is rapping in what song, Kevin is the one who shouts out at least 8 Scripture references in each verse he raps!

Adam, in my opinion, is the most seasoned and knowledgeable member of the Plumbline. Since I’ve known him, I don’t think I have ever had a conversation with him where I was not challenged and encouraged to pursue Christ with greater passion! As if it were our first conversation ever, every time we talk, I am consistently impressed with the discernment God has given him. And since I’ve known him, I have only witnessed his desire to see God glorified through the purity of His church increase. His passion for God’s glory is unmistakable in his music as well. For Adam, everything – every doctrine, every practice, how we exercise Christian liberties – hinges on how we think of and respond to the greatness of God’s glory!  I look forward to watching what God does in his life now as he grows in the new arena of marriage.

Evidently, God has been very gracious to us. As we seek to communicate truth through hip hop music, we pray that what God has done in us will encourage, challenge, and strengthen our listeners to pursue Christ in hope, faith, love, wisdom, and holiness.

I Thessalonians 2:13.

Grace & Peace,

omri

Leave a Reply

