Interview with The Plumbline Collective (part 1 of 4)

The Plumbline Collective are my favorite Christian rappers. Period. They have a new mixtape droppin’ on April 27th. In light of that I wanted to introduce all of our readers to them, so I set up an interview.

HR:Why don’t you start by telling me how The Plumbline got started?

ALEX FAITH: Long story, but not too long when condensed. I knew Omri, even longer story, and we got together with my dude Pravin who we rode with to a conference in Muscle Shoals, AL. While there we met with some friends of Pravin from Statesboro, GA where he went to college. One of them was a guy named Adam Stocker, who randomly did a nice spoken word piece during one of our lunches. From there we just hung out throughout the conference building on various levels. After the conference we were all pretty excited about the fellowship; I know it was the first time Omri and I had experienced anything like that, so we made a trip down to check out their church plant. We did a lot of evangelism over the summer together, various places and people involved. We met Kevin at the church in Statesboro (GA), very vibrant guy, who didn’t let anyone know he was nice with the lyrics. There are quite a few people who have been down with Plumbline from the jump but don’t do music. Shout out to Jeremy Myers, John Bohannon, Josh Chambers, and Brice Fogle. We did one song, and felt like we could do more, and we did….. Omri and I would travel from Augusta and Atlanta to Statesboro to link with the guys down there almost every weekend during summer 2008. The rest is history…

KEVIN: Me and Adam were at the same church in Statesboro, GA. Adam met Alex and Omri through a mutual friend and they came down and visited. We had wonderful fellowship and a common interest in Christian rap. One day we recorded a song, pretty much everyone we let hear the song loved it. We’ve been doing it ever since.

OMRI: After we recorded our first 3 songs together in Statesboro, GA, we started considering the possibility of forming a group. The name Plumbline appealed to us because we all understand the importance of keeping Scripture as our standard of judgment. As the only inerrant, infallible source of truth, 2 Peter 1:19-21 shows us that it is absolutely essential to the success of the life of a believer. That’s our foundation, and that’s what we want to hold high.

How long have you been believers and how did that happen?

OMRI: Ironically enough, the weekend that God began forming the Plumbline, the weekend we went to the True Church Conference in Muscle Shoals, AL, is the weekend that God really convicted me concerning sin. I professed faith from a very young age, but never really understood the implications of being a sinner; namely, that I was under the wrath of God and deserved hell because of my disobedience. During the conference I felt the weight of conviction and read the book of 1 John in a quest to know whether my profession of faith was really genuine. Shortly after the conference, one day while I was alone in my dorm room, I confessed to God that I was a sinner deserving of His just wrath and that I wanted Him to save me! The rest is history.

AF: Not sure about the answer to this one, I know that I am saved now. I want to say when I was 16 or 17 the Lord saved me, but I don’t have a specific date. I was involved with a church in south Atlanta, doing lots of youth work, playing guitar for worship services and ect. A guy named Pravin who was a recent convert was asking me a lot of questions, challenging me in my faith, and when tested, I came up wanting. I had a cultural Jesus, and through a few different means, the Lord eventually snatched me up pretty hard.

KEVIN: Since May 2007. I was a false convert and I read 1 John 3:6 (No one who lives in him keeps on sinning. No one who continues to sin has either seen him or known him.) and the Lord saved me through showing me I was lost and the implications of me being lost (on my way to hell) and that I needed God to save me.

HR:Talk to me about how you guys write a verse; what kind of study goes into it? Both biblical and otherwise. Tell me about how you go about setting up a scheme.

KEVIN: I’ll see what the general topic of the song is going to be, I’ll try to search for verses that deal with that topic and fit them in there, either rhyming the actual verse, or just the reference of the verse. I’ll try to make the syllables rhyme in each line, sometimes it’s hard to do that and still keep the content relevant.

OMRI: Similar to Kevin, I attempt to take a Scriptural concept, the wording used in a verse, or the actual reference and incorporate that into the verse. This isn’t always necessary, but my hope is that people would look up the passages and read the context and gain confidence in the Scriptures and not my lyrics. As Alex mentioned, some songs require digging in the Scriptures for hours, others don’t. Much thought and study went into songs like Priestly Postulations, One Hope, and King Jesus though.

Recently, I’ve tried to add an element of complexity to my rhyme schemes. My roommate  and close friend Pilgrim introduced me to multi-syllabic rhyme schemes. So since the first mixtape, I’ve studied guys like Evangel, shai linne, Steven the Levite, and Tim Brindle, as well as some secular artists whenever I hear them and attempted to master some of their techniques.

AF: Well…. I love good Hip Hop music. I’ve been on a Little Brother kick this week, grew up on OutKast and Goodie Mob, love Nappy Roots. I’m heavily influenced in my writing and delivery by these groups. I’m very different from the rest of the crew in that I’m not nearly as lyrical but more focused on getting the meat of what i have to say said, and said well. I focus on what the song is about and try to speak on it, and whatever way that comes out…. comes out. Biblically, it just depends on the topic at hand, there are times where i have just went in and studied to rock a track. Other times, cyphas in particular, we just rock.. Get a good flow going to ride it out, and boast on Jesus.

  1. April 22nd, 2010
    Trackback from : uberVU – social comments

Leave a Reply

