Adoniram Judson – Thoughts For the Day

Adoniram Judson is not as well-known a man as David Brainerd, Jim Elliot, or William Carey. But he is known for being the first “significant” (long-lasting) person to be sent out or to go from America proclaiming the truth of the gospel boldly and passionately. His heart was captivated by the glory of God, and His lips knew nothing but to speak of Jesus Christ and Him crucified. His sight and vision was on the Burmese people, and he went after them vigorously.

I wanted to share a little bit about him with you all, and just place some of his quotes up for you to check out.

God answers all true prayer, either in kind or in kindness.

If I had not felt certain that every additional trial was ordered by infinite love and mercy, I could not have survived my accumulated sufferings.

I am not tired of work, neither am I tired of the world; yet, when Christ calls me home I shall go with gladness…

John Piper compiled a biography of Adoniram Judson which is contained in his collection Filling Up the Afflictions of Christ

  1. “If I had not felt certain that every additional trial was ordered by infinite love and mercy, I could not have survived my accumulated sufferings.”
    This was a timely word for me and my family. Thanks.

  2. It was a timely word for me too. I too have been very discouraged, having been laid off and all. But the words of Brother Judson were a reminder that I need to keep trusting and walking the narrow way. Thank you for the quote!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

