A Few Books for your Consideration

 Given that I serve my local body by running our bookstore, I wanted to point out a few titles that we use a ton at my local church, Grace Bible. I have them listed below by theme. I pray that these are a help to you.

Prayer:
Valley of Vision– this a collection of puritan prayers. I use this book personally in my quit times to help move my thinking towards the lord and the cross before I read my bible. 

A Call to Spiritual Reformation by D.A. Carson– Looks at the prayers of Paul. I have watched this book change the pray lives of men around me.

 Living the Christian Life:
Pursuit of Holiness by Jerry Bridges– This is a classic on running the race set before us through the power of the cross.

Sex is not the Prolbem, Lust is by Joshua Harris- This is a book I reread about every 9 months. it is deeply practical by richly biblical. A rare combination. 

Respectable Sins by Jerry Bridges– This book targets sins we may not think are sins. I have found this book to be a very humbling read. 

Sharing your faith: 
The Gospel and Personal Evangelism by Mark Dever– This is the best book on sharing your faith I have ever read. 

To strengthen your Faith: 
Christian Beliefs by Wanye Grudem– This is a systematic theology in miniature. I used it in my daily reading and read it over the course of a month. 

Classics of the Faith: 
Resolutions And Advice to Young Converts by Jonathan Edwards– This is the best introduction to Edwards I know of. This small, put meaty book is a great starting point for anyone interested in Edwards but afraid of his writing style. 

Reading for Those with Little Time: 
Life is a Vapor by John Piper– Short readings. Meaty, heart changing stuff.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

