A Walk with Jonathan Edwards

By Mike Henderson

I would like to invite you all to embark on a journey with me. We are at the beginning of a new year and like most of you; I have hope that through diligence will flesh themselves out in ways that will manifest God’s glory more clearly through me. So to the journey I have undertaken; I have begun what I am calling “A Walk with Jonathan Edwards.”

If you are not familiar with this since glorified saint, he was a simple under rower of God in the 18th century. By human standards he is not to be counted among ordinary men; in fact he is almost unanimously touted as the greatest thinker in American History. However, this title can only be considered because of the amazing work that God had so called him to do. Now, at this point in my acquaintance with this man what I have been led to believe is that he is most remembered for a particular sermon he gave entitled Sinners in the Hands of an Angry God, which is said to have been the spark for one of the greatest revival since Pentecost. This leads me to why I have been drawn to Edwards, I am inclined to think as I come in contact with the totality of his writings that I will be profoundly challenged in every way to be conformed to the image of Christ.

I will be reading Volume One of The Works of Jonathan Edwards published By the Banner of Truth Trust. This is a large volume; therefore I have decided to push aside all extra biblical works so I can finish it over the next year. How I plan to incorporate you all into my endeavor is by regularly posting Edwards’ insights into God’s Word and the sanctification of him is doing to spur me on in the faith. This, I believe, is in line with Paul’s admonition to those at Philippi , “brethren, join in following my example, and observe those who walk according to the pattern you have in us (Phil. 3:17),” and I pray that in our time spent Walking with Jonathan Edwards, that we would all observe (or pattern) Jonathan Edwards who walked according to the pattern of the Apostles.

  1. I’m looking forward to seeing what the Lord does through Edward’s writings over the next year.

    • russellandduenes
    • January 31st, 2010

    That’s a tall order, Russ, even in a year. Edwards is not the kind of writer that one can “blow through” (not that you were attempting to do that). But vol. 1 contains some of his most difficult stuff (Freedom of the Will and Original Sin). No doubt you’ve much time with your youthful and single status, but you’re talking about essentially 1,300 pages (since it is double column) of Edwards in a year. That means you’ve got to read about 3.5 pages of him every day. It’s possible, but for what it’s worth, I’d take longer. Edwards is worth being read slowly and carefully if he’s worth being read at all.

    • R&D,
      It’s Mike Henderson who is reading Edwards this next year. I’m with you Edwards is hard and going slow is helpful with him. We’ll see how far he gets.
      -r

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

