Why Do I Focus on Holy HipHop so Much? or Should We Be in the Business of Cultural Engagment

During the time I took off from writing I thought about what I have posted on this blog in the first six months that people who read my not understand. The thing that came to mind the most was all of this focus I have put on holy hiphop.

I would Like to offer a few reasons why I feel that focusing on it fits within the larger goals I have outlined in the about section for this blog.

this blog is about Culture, The Divine and the intersection between them. I feel that one of the best examples of this is the use of hiphop to spread truth and give cultural groups access to the gospel in creative ways.

God made music for the praise of His Name. I thank God that that there is a joyful noise being made to the Lord that is coming from an urban hiphop context. For those of you who have a favorite kind of worship and/or trouble with a hiphop expression of praise I would ask if these preferences are based on style or content; is it the content of the songs, the lyrics that make you prefer one type of praise over the other or is it the organ, or conversely, the guitar distortion that gets you going. If the later is the case I would ask you to focus on the words ( the worship debate is basically does God live in 1840’s Europe, 1970’s U.S.A or 2000’s urban Philly if style is how you measure what God cares about. It is the words not the wrapping.)

I am hard pressed to find a traditional hymn or contemporary worship song that has a much truth per minute as the hiphop tracks I listen to. I mean really some theological books have less truth than 16 bars in some of these songs.

American Christendom is TOO white and TOO rich. By and large the Church in America is middle to upper class white folks. This is even more the case in regards to the Reformed crowd. Hiphop is a weapon to be used for the kind to fulfill Revelation 5. “And they sang a new song, saying, “Worthy are You to take the book and to break its seals; for You were slain, and purchased for God with Your blood men from every tribe and tongue and people and nation.  10“You have made them to be a kingdom and priests to our God; and they will reign upon the earth.” That blood was spilled for Urban Black Kids too. Praise God for MC’s spitting truth and bringing Jesus to them.

With that all said, here are a few tracks that have  ministered to my soul.

I mean come on this has more truth than some sermons

the story of William Tyndale and how you got your English bible in minute and a half.

Kill Lust.

Raps the end of the book of Job.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

