a Lesson From Romans 13 or How I Need to Start My Day

My day started off well. I got to bed early the night before and for once I had enough sleep. I got up early and went to have breakfast with a Godly friend of mine.  So far so good. I then went home and decided to take a nap instead of staying up. after that I got up and sat in my chair and tried to wake up and have my coffee.  After that I went and worked out. Following my work out I went back home.

and sinned.

After I got convicted I looked at how that happened and Romans 13:14 came screaming into my mind.

“But put on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make no provision for the flesh, to gratify its desires.”

Upon reflection I came to understand that i sinned twice; I sinned by omitting the putting on of Christ followed hours later by sinning by making provision for my flesh, to gratify its desires.  Look again at my day before my Sin of Commission; I didn’t get in the word, I didn’t take time to preach the gospel to myself and I didn’t take time to submit my day to the lord through prayer. I set myself up.

The really sad part outside of my committing an evil act towards God, was that the reason that romans 13:14 came to mind following my sin of commission was that I committed it to memory in response to sin the previous week. THE SAME SIN. This is why it is so important o start the day by putting on Jesus Christ. What kind of Jesus Christ? The Lord, in that he not only saves you but has commands for you to follow like “Go and sin no more.”

Let us go to him daily and go quickly. I am not saying that you are in sin if the first thing you do is not bible reading or prayer. What I am saying is that we are in sin if we go into our day with out reminding ourselves of who God is, who we are, What we have don against him and what He has done for us. 30 seconds of gospel recall could have saved me from sin later in the day.

    • ashley
    • September 10th, 2009

    “I sinned by omitting the putting on of Christ followed hours later by sinning by making provision for my flesh, to gratify its desires.” Wow. God is sure growing you. The gospel, and the God of the gospel is the best!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

