a Lesson From Nehemiah 3 or Why We Should Be Willing to Stoop

I was reading Nehemiah 3 as part of my reading plan and came to Chapter 3. What I found was a strong warning to me. Here is what I found:

Then Eliashib the high priest rose up with his brothers the priests, and they built the Sheep Gate. They consecrated it and set its doors. They consecrated it as far as the Tower of the Hundred, as far as the Tower of Hananel. And next to him the men of Jericho built. And next to them Zaccur the son of Imri built. The sons of Hassenaah built the Fish Gate. They laid its beams and set its doors, its bolts, and its bars. And next to them Meremoth the son of Uriah, son of Hakkoz repaired. And next to them Meshullam the son of Berechiah, son of Meshezabel repaired. And next to them Zadok the son of Baana repaired. And next to them the Tekoites repaired, but their nobles would not stoop to serve their Lord.

Each day as I do my reading I look for one thing to write in about. What I write is a short sentence or two, some times a prayer as well. Here is what I wrote:

“In Response to Nemeiah 3:5 – Lord, please keep me from being like the nobles here in V.5. Please help me to discern what you are doing @ grace (my local church) and in the larger Christian context and get on board with what you are doing. Lord what is it you are doing?”

Let us be willing to stoop for the Lord.

  1. Amen…I just finished reading Nehemiah a few weeks ago and had passed over this. Thanks for the reminder…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

