What Should I Read?

I am looking for a new book to read. WHAT SHOULD I READ? (I know I am already reading like 6 other books but want just one more.) suggestions?

    • joe m
    • July 16th, 2009

    the one im thinking of rhymes with charnock. seriously check out the God is Spirit chapter i re-did, and you can give me your feedback 🙂

    • JG
    • July 16th, 2009

    John Piper has a brand new one: “Filling up the Afflictions of Christ”

    • yeah, I saw that. It is offically on the long list. So, I should work my way to it in the next half decade or so.

    • james f
    • July 16th, 2009

    Adventures of the Technology Underground….I found that one to be short and sweet.

    http://www.amazon.com/Adventures-Technology-Underground-Catapults-Flamethrowers/dp/1400050820

    • bill clay
    • July 16th, 2009

    Last Days Madness.

    • kiki
    • July 16th, 2009

    Personal Evangelism Dever

    • jherb
    • July 16th, 2009

    Nate is loving a book by Tim Keller that he just got…I think it’s The Reason for God.

  1. Why don’t you finish the book I just let you borrow first! Then I’ll suggest another one! 😀

    You and your 6-10 books at a time amaze me!

    • the way that I think is to look at five or six or 4000 things at once and look for common themes, differances and interconnectedness. also reading 3 or more books at a time keeps me from getting bored and allows me to finish all of them at some point through a healthy rotation. helps me think things over.

  2. My recommendation would depend what type of book you want to read. Do you want to study a particular doctrine? Classic or contemporary author?

    My favorite Christian book that I would highly recommend to anyone is The Cross of Christ by John Stott. It is an excellent devotional read on the Christ’s atonement. Just talking about it with others always make me want to re-read it.

    I, too, suffer from reading several books simultaneously. I would have similar reasons as to why I read multiple books as you said in your last comment. But the reason why I say ‘I suffer’ is that I often don’t finish reading what I started. I suppose it is better than reading nothing at all.

  3. I would read in a particular area or topic so that your focus is concentrated for a time. In other words, don’t read “all over the map”, because doing so will dilute your ability to retain and gain useful facility with what you’re learning.

    • thanks. I have three catagories I read in;
      heart stuff; books on matters of the gospel that I read more slowly
      secondary theology or other heavy reading.
      10 minute reading: something of intrest, mostly history, that I read when i have a free ten minutes or at the end of my day when my mind is really tired.

    • jmarti574
    • July 18th, 2009

    hey it’s joe got the blog. all charnock all the time!

  4. I’m currently reading “A Shelter In The Time of Storm” by Paul Tripp, a series of 52 chapters or meditations on Psalm 27…I highly recommend it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

