My Bookshelves, Summer Reading and a Question

Here a few shots of the bookshelves. As a reader there is something really beautiful to me about the way all of the books 4392_85736748370_717338370_1994675_113686_nlook stacked up on them. The photo is of what I’m working on. The stack is about hip high and double deep on the top shelf…so I should kill it off in about seven or eight years If I keep going at the current rate and add nothing to it. that is a very big “IF” indeed.I was also wondering what Books you are:

Currently reading.


Looking forward to reading.


Have just finished reading.


I am currently reading, Living for the God’s Glory By Joel Beeke , Healing a Broken World by Steve Monsma , Reasons We Believe by Nathan Busenitz, Pilgrims Progress by Bunyan and Foxe’s book of Martyrs. I am looking forward to reading Spiritual Reformation By D.A. Carson and John Calvin By T.H.L. Parker. Lastly, I just finished Christian Belief by Grudem. Please post what you’ve been working on, I’d like to know.

    • clearly
    • June 18th, 2009

    I just finished Memoirs of an Ordinary Pastor by DA Carson. It gives those of us who aren’t superstars hope and the firm challenge to be faithful to Christ even in the difficult times.

    Just finished Poetics and Interpretation of Biblical Narrative by Adele Berlin — it had some helpful pointers, but I had to wade through some theological liberalism, i.e. what I believe to be a low view of Scripture.

    I’m now reading the memoirs of J Hudson Taylor, 100 Meditations on Colossians by Sam Storms, some old Bibliotheca Sacra journal entries on Dispensationalism, as well as a title by GK Chesterton.

    I’d really like to read next the new title “Unfashionable” by that guy whose name is impossible:)

    • How is the Storms’ book? I Have a friend who raved about memoirs, I am looking forward to reading it.

  1. I just finished The Marketing of Evil by David Kupelian. Top notch, although sobering to say the least. Thanks for commenting on my blog.

  2. Haven’t gotten into the Storms book too far yet, but so far there has been some helpful stuff.

    • russellandduenes
    • June 24th, 2009

    I just finished reading “Money, Greed, and God” by Jay Richards. Excellent book. I highly recommend it. I’m currently reading “The New Medicine” by Nigel Cameron, which explains how the medical profession has abandoned its commitment to the Hippcratic Oath and what the fallout has been. Very good book. I’m also reading a bio on Thomas Jefferson and “The Rare Jewel of Christian Contentment” by Jeremiah Burroughs. The Burroughs book is outstanding. Can’t recommend it more highly.

    • I am so glad to see you reading Burroughs; I spend a lot of my time trying to get those in my local fellowship to read old, tested works. I hope to get to the Richards book before the year is out. Which Jefferson bio is it?

    • shag
    • June 24th, 2009

    Currently working through my list of Presidential Bios. I am in the middle of a Truman bio by McCullough, and I recently picked up a book titled “Spare Parts” about a Marine Reservist. Not too jazzed with it so far, but I’ll probably finish it…

    I don’t often start a book and then not finish it.

    I am also pre-reading Jude’s epistle. Fabulous stuff bro. I can’t wait to start in on some serious study.

    • shag
    • June 24th, 2009

    I was really encouraged by what you had read in “Reasons We Believe.” I was mostly convicted about how often I let opportunities to engage in apologetics slip by. I want to read this book so that I will be out of my comfort zone.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

